Rules and Consequences.

I am finally back on track after a solid month of struggling. No gym, no counting points. I ate basically whatever I wanted, and how much of it I wanted. I felt crappy and grouchy and tired most of the time.

Then I realized two things:

1.) The ridiculous amount of money I was spending on food. I was going out to lunch almost every day. I was spending close to $50/week on lunches ALONE. That doesn’t take into account my daily trips through the McDonald’s drive-thru for breakfast. It was obscene.

2.) That I was going on vacation in one month. That I had one month until I had to squeeze my ass into a tiny airplane seat for a cross-country flight.

Those two things were enough to jolt me back to reality. I am happy to report that this week has been GREAT so far. I’ve counted every point, written down every morsel that has passed through my lips. I’ve drank at least a half-gallon of water every day. I am feeling amazingly energetic. It’s been easier for me to wake up in the morning and easier for me to fall asleep at night. I feel so good that I almost feel like I am high. I want to bottle this feeling so that I can inject myself with it when I’m having my not-so-motivated days.

As I’ve mentioned on here before, I have been seeing a therapist weekly since this past fall. I am not at all ashamed to say I am in therapy. I think there are lots and lots of people out there who aren’t in therapy who DESPERATELY need it. For a long time, I was one of those people. I had absolutely no one to talk to about so many things, and so food became my sounding board. My issues with food run very, very deep and my weight has impacted nearly every facet of my life, and never in a positive way. I knew I wasn’t going to be able to be successful at losing weight if I didn’t work out some of my issues at the same time.

Anyway, last week, my therapist and I decided that I needed to make some rules for myself to follow. Rules that I HAD to stick to, or else face consequences that would also be defined by me. Rules that would help me break the cycle that I had been trapped in for the past month.

Here were the rules I came up with:

1.) You cannot go more than 3 days without exercise or some kind of aerobic activity.

2.) You cannot go through a drive-thru for breakfast.

3.) You cannot take an unhealthy (i.e. candy, pastries) from the snack tray at work.

The consequence for breaking any of these rules was that I had to go to the gym, immediately after work, and work out for at least 45 minutes.

I have been 100% with Rules 2 and 3. Rule 1 has been more challenging. Because of work and other responsibilities, it has been very difficult to fit in exercise. However, I have been more active as I have been doing a lot of things around my house, including mowing the lawn, which – as lame as it sounds – TOTALLY counts an aerobic activity. I’ve taken a long walk around my neighborhood a few times. Have I been to the gym yet? No. But I think one of the problems I’ve had in the past is that I try to do everything, all at once, and if I don’t do it all perfectly, then I feel like I’ve failed. So, right now, it’s been easier for me to just focus on my eating and getting that back on track and under control before I worry too much about fitting in my exercise.

I’m determined to go weigh in on Saturday morning. The last time I weighed in was April 3. At that weigh-in, I had gained 1.8 pounds, which I think is what set me off on my month of gluttony.

I know that when I go weigh in on Saturday, I will probably weigh more than the last time I weighed in. And you know what? It is what it is. I know that I’ve had a really good week, and that I feel the momentum to continue. I’ll be looking forward to the scale falling again. In the meantime, I’m going to keep following my rules.

What are YOUR rules? Do you have consequences for yourself if you break them? I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

