Breaking the fast.

I struggle most in the mornings. I don’t know why. I think it comes from years of sleeping until the last possible minute in the morning – actually, who am I kidding? I still do it! – leaving me little to no time to eat breakfast before I leave the house. I think breakfast is a meal that sets the tone for the day, at least for me it does. If I eat well at breakfast, odds are that I’ll eat well throughout the day so as not to “ruin” the day.

Back in January and February, I almost always ate breakfast. Whether it was just smearing some peanut butter on a sandwich thin or eating a bowl of cereal, I had usually eaten something by the time I got to work, which made it easier for me to avoid public enemy #1. I have a 45 minute commute each way, and I have learned to enjoy having that time to myself. But when I don’t eat breakfast, I’m usually pretty hungry by the time I approach my office, which makes it a little TOO easy to pull through the drive-thru at McDonalds or Dunkin’ Donuts. “Well, I’ve gotta eat something!” is what I tell myself.

I am ashamed to admit that I’ve been doing this a lot lately. And it all comes down to a lack of planning. It comes down to me not getting up 5 minutes earlier, me not having enough breakfast food options in the house. Me not making it a priority.

Needless to say, I haven’t been doing so great on the weight loss effort lately. I guess you could say there hasn’t been much effort at all, really. I haven’t been to the gym in almost a month, although I have walked outside a few times. I haven’t weighed in at WW in almost a month. I’ve counted my points only a handful of days in the past month.

But I have managed to make some improvements. One of these is that I’ve stopped buying iced coffee. I LOVE iced coffee, and as soon as spring hits, I start craving it. The only thing is that when you buy one at McD’s or Dunkin’ Donuts, you don’t know how much cream or sugar they’re putting into it. And yes, they are delicious with real cream and sugar. OF COURSE! Everything is better with real cream and sugar! But I started wondering if I couldn’t make something comparable myself.

And so I did.

I fill the cup to the top with ice, then pour in the coffee. Then I had some fat-free half & half. I would guess I add 2-3 tablespoons to get it to the right color. Then I add 3 Splendas and stir. Then, since the hot coffee melted some of the ice, I add some more ice to the top.

Is it as good as a “real” iced coffee? No. But it satisfies my craving for probably 1/3 of the calories and none of the fat.

At this point, I figure that doing anything, however small, is better than doing nothing.

Leave a Reply

