Revived.

I had a really, really lovely long weekend. It was damn near perfect, actually. While I don’t necessarily feel rested (two nights on an air mattress might have something to do with that), I feel incredibly relaxed and rejuvenated. It was exactly what I needed.

A group of my friends from college, who I only see three or four times a year, all got together down in Northern Virginia. We went to Great Falls Park and watched two guys go OVER the falls in their kayaks. This was both thrilling and terrifying to watch. It was also there that I had to use the most disgusting port-a-potty in the United States of America. I was seriously considering just going in the woods, but there were too many people around as it was a beautiful day. After Great Falls, we went to Benihana for dinner. Oh man, was it ever fun (and tasty)!

Sunday we went on a little wine tour and did tastings at three different wineries. I am not a wine drinker and so I was not necessarily excited by at the prospect of doing this, but it FAR surpassed my expectations. I realized that I don’t dislike ALL wines, just dry wines. After the wineries, we stopped briefly at the Leesburg Outlets, where I purchased 4 pairs of flip-flops and 2 scarves (yes, I have a problem) at Old Navy and where I watched one of my friends take a ride in one of those little coin-operated rides for children. It was an awesome day.

Yesterday, we woke up fairly early and had breakfast. I made my special monkey bread, which looked a lot like this:

We left Virginia and drove back to PA, and my friends from New England (Connecticut & Massachusetts) decided to go slightly out of the way so they could come and see my house, which meant a lot to me. Once they left, my friend and I hung out, went to dinner, went to T.J. Maxx (my new favorite store) and then visited our friend who is about 3 months pregnant. We called her and she mentioned she was hungry for an ice cream sundae, so we bought some stuff and went over there for a bit.

I feel calm and relaxed in a way I haven’t felt in months. I feel re-focused and motivated. My eating and exercise habits have not been very good over the last few weeks, but I can feel that turning around, finally. I have about 6 weeks before I go on vacation. I want to see how much I can lose by then. I feel the need to make up for some lost time.

Leave a Reply

