Vacation, all I ever wanted.

It dawned on me today that I haven’t had a vacation since September 2008.

Sure, I’ve gone away for a few weekends to visit friends. I’ve traveled out of state to a wedding. I spent time hosting friends at my family’s cabin. But I don’t consider any of this a vacation. To me, vacations are a time of rest and relaxation. They are a time to do whatever you want; read, watch movies and trashy TV, sleep in, shop, and eat. To me, a vacation requires that you go somewhere. Screw the “stay-cation.”

The last time vacation I had was to Vancouver Island in Canada with my mom, aunt, and cousin. It was beautiful, but it was tiring. Lots of driving and sightseeing and nights sleeping on an air mattress. It was fun, and I had a great time, but it wasn’t relaxing. I came home, moved back to PA, and started a new job about 2 weeks later. I haven’t stopped since.

I am going on vacation to WA in June, but it is with my entire family (11 people). It will be lovely, I’m sure, but probably not very relaxing either.

So, here’s the plan: I’m going to take a vacation. By myself.

Here are my requirements:

  • I don’t want to have to fly to get there.
  • I want to go somewhere with a nice hotel or resort with really comfortable beds.
  • There must be at least some good shopping & decent restaurants.

I’m planning to take a 3-day weekend. I looked at my calendar and I will probably end up going May 21-23. It’s basically the only free weekend I have until mid-July. I’m not going to tell my parents where I’m going, because they’ll tell me I’m being ridiculous and wasting money.

So, all that said…I am looking for suggestions on where to go. Been somewhere great? Let me know!

I am willing to drive up to 5 hours from where I live in south central PA to get to my destination. I might be willing to drive further if the place sounds exceptionally good.
2 Responses to “Vacation, all I ever wanted.”

  1. Becca Says:

    That is awesome, such a good idea. You’re in PA, right? I guess it depends on how touristy a city you want to go to. There are the obvious options like DC or NYC. But you could do something a little more historical and quaint like Historic Williamsburg, VA. I’ve actually always wanted to go there myself and was hoping to get down there a weekend this summer – people love it. I also believe there are outlets near there 🙂

    I’m actually taking my first “real” vacation in may since forever ago. l I did take a day off in February for San Francisco but I’m going back the week of Memorial Day for a whole week! Hooray for vacations!

  2. Erin Says:

    I am in PA. I am thinking I don’t want to go anywhere TOO touristy. I am picture someplace quaint and/or woodsy. I am thinking of Berkeley Springs, WV…but Williamsburg is a great idea! I haven’t been there in ages.

    I am jealous you are going back to San Francisco! I really want to go there. Maybe next year…

Leave a Reply

