Doctor, doctor, give me the news.

Yesterday I took the day off work because I had two doctor’s appointments scheduled. I work about 40 minutes from where I live and so I decided that I’d just schedule the appointments on the same day rather than have to arrive late/leave work early on two separate days.

As I’ve mentioned before, doctor’s appointments have always been a source of anxiety for me, for as long as I can remember. Of course, I was always anxious because I knew my weight would be brought up, and that was the one thing I did not want to talk about. Anyway, I had actually re-scheduled both of these appointments from back in January because I wanted to lose some weight before I went in to face the music.

And for the first time ever, I actually DID lose weight before my appointments. I was actually excited to step on the scale at my first appointment because I wanted to see if my 3.6 ‘gain’ had found its way out of my body yet. Thankfully, it had — I was down to the previous week’s weight, according to their scale. I told the nurse practitioner that I was doing Weight Watchers and exercising and that I had lost about 20 pounds so far this year. Turns out that she is a lifetime member of WW, a topic we discussed while she was giving me my yearly lady-parts exam. Lovely!

When I went to my second doctor’s appointment, about 2 hours later, I knew I’d have to step on the scale again. No sweat, I thought! Well, turns out that the scale at that office was WAY off. According to it, I had miraculously GAINED 6 pounds in the last two hours. Granted, I was wearing my clothes this time (before I was just wearing one of those lovely gowns/mu-mu’s they provide). So, of course, I made it a point to tell my doctor (Dr. K) that I knew for a fact that their scale was off and that I had actually lost almost 20 pounds since the last time I saw her.

All Dr. K said to me was “Well, that’s good. Be sure to keep losing weight. Then you can buy a new wardrobe!” I thought it was a weird comment, but whatever…she is not a native English speaker, so I’ll let it slide.

I kind of hate going to see Dr. K because it reminds me of a terrifying thing that happened to me almost 2 years ago. I briefly mentioned it here but didn’t get into the nitty-gritty of it. I’m working on the first post about it now, but it will probably be spread over several posts because there’s a lot to say. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

