Life ain’t a track meet, its a marathon.

Remember how yesterday I said that I couldn’t write the post I had been planning because I didn’t bring a certain item with me to work?

That item was my iPod.

I will start by saying that I am one of those people who is obsessed with music. I have been since middle school. I will often go through my day and think of songs that would be perfect for the moment, as if my life was a movie or a music video. I have been to more concerts than I can count…probably over 200, easily. I get a thrill when I discover a band before they become popular. I listen to music all day long; I think there is probably only an hour or two a day that I’m not listening to something, whether it be the radio, a CD, my iPod, or Pandora. A lot of my friends think my taste in music is weird. I agree with them.

I listen mostly to indie, alternative, and folk  music. Those genres are what comprise probably 85% of my music library.

Then there is the other 15%. That is my workout music. I’ve been accruing it since my freshman year of college – almost 10 years. Most of it is the complete opposite of what I normally listen to.

The thing is, I HAVE to listen to music while I’m working out. I see people at the gym without headphones on and I just don’t know how they do it. I need that music, that rhythm to keep me going. It helps keep me motivated, helps me keep my pace up, helps keep me interested in what I’m doing. It just makes working out much easier and much more enjoyable for me. I know that many other people feel the same way.

So, here is a list of some of the music on my “workout” play list. The selections are kind of all over the place, so be prepared!

  • Bloodbath – from the ‘Blade’ soundtrack (I normally start out my workouts with this song. It’s about 10 minutes long and has a great rhythm progression which helps me get up to the right pace quickly.)
  • Block Rockin Beats – Chemical Brothers
  • Meth, Come Together, Busy Child, & Keep Home Alive – Crystal Method
  • Acid 8000 – Fatboy Slim
  • You Can Do It – Ice Cube feat. Mack 10 (The title of this post comes from this song. I love it!)
  • Breathe, Stretch, Shake – Mase
  • Lose Control, Work It, & Get Your Freak On – Missy Elliott (I love Missy Elliott. She needs to put out some new music, STAT.)
  • Go – Moby
  • Ghetto Musik & Bombs Over Baghdad – Outkast (These are probably my 2 favorite workout songs ever. I can rap along with every single word. If you’ve ever heard these, you know that is quite an achievement!)
  • Breathe & Smack My Bitch Up – Prodigy
  • Drop – Timbaland & Magoo
  • I Do – Toya
  • Dreams – Brandi Carlile
  • My Girls – Animal Collective
  • Sex on Fire – Kings of Leon
  • Lisztomania & 1901 – Phoenix
  • Kids – MGMT
  • Strange Times – The Black Keys
  • New Fang – Them Crooked Vultures
  • 15 Step, Bodysnatchers, Jigsaw Falling Into Place – Radiohead
  • The Eraser – Thom Yorke

So… what do YOU listen to when you work out? What music gets you moving? Or do you prefer NOT to listen?

One Response to “Life ain’t a track meet, its a marathon.”

  1. Becca Says:

    Oh yea, i definitely need music. My running playlist is equally random.

    But seriously, this is a good list, i’m stealing some of your tunes!

Leave a Reply

