Slow and steady.

So, I lost 1.2 pounds last week. I’m a little disappointed with that. My eating wasn’t perfect, but it wasn’t out of control. I went to the gym 3 times and took a long walk on Friday. I just thought I would lose more than that. I did hit my 5% target of 18 pounds, which I am happy about. I was really hoping to hit 20, but that should happen this week. I only need to lose 1.6 pounds to do that.

Here’s the weekly weight loss breakdown so far:

1/9/10 – initial “official” weigh-in
1/16/10
– lost 5.8
1/23/10 – lost 4.4 (10.2 total)
1/30/10 – lost 2.5 (12.8 total)
2/13/10 – lost 3.2 over 2 weeks (16 total)
2/27/10 – lost 1.2 over 2 weeks (17.2 total)
3/6/10 – lost 1.2 (18.4 total) *hit 5% target*

My next target is 10%, or 36 pounds. I am hoping the second 18 pounds comes off a bit faster than the first 18 did. I think it will, considering I’m going to the gym on a regular basis now.

I constantly need to remind myself that real life weight-loss doesn’t happen like it does on the Biggest Loser. Those people work out for hours every day. I have no idea how much they eat – which, BTW, I wish they would talk more about that than just product placement segments – but it’s probably not very much. I often think about how difficult it must be for those contestants to go back to the “real world” once their time on the ranch is up. I’m actually surprised that we don’t hear about MORE contestants re-gaining their weight.

I remember a few years ago when I was trying to lose weight through the Johns Hopkins Weight Management Center. I was on a supplement-based weight loss program wherein I was only consuming about 1,000 (or less) a day. I couldn’t even eat fruit or vegetables. I lost 30 pounds in 3 or 4 weeks, and it was great.

I think, in theory, this is a good program for some people. But for me, that kind of weight loss wasn’t maintainable in the long run. The program was also obscenely expensive, and my health insurance wouldn’t cover any of it. I cringe now when I think about the thousands of dollars I spent doing their program (two different times).

After my 3 or 4 weeks on the supplements was over, I had to begin to re-introduce “real” food into my diet. I went crazy. I stopped going, and I gained all of the weight back, and then some.

I know that everyone says that it’s better to lose weight slowly, and I agree. But I don’t want this to take forever. I get overwhelmed when I think about the fact that I have to lose about 160 MORE pounds in order to get to my goal. It’s daunting. Yet, I know it’s possible. I know it might take me 2 years to get to my goal. I know I might change my goal along the way.

The fact of the matter is that *I* let myself get to the place where I am now. I have no one to blame for my situation but myself. And because of that, *I* am the one who needs to do the work. I didn’t gain the weight overnight, and I certainly won’t lose it overnight. The good thing is – it will take me LESS time to lose it than it did for me to gain it. If I can lose  13+ years of weight in 2 years, then I think I can do anything.

3 Responses to “Slow and steady.”

  1. theplumpvegan Says:

    Cnogratulations on hitting the 5% mark… that’s an accomplishment!! Sorry I’ve been terrible about commenting lately, but it’s not because I haven’t been reading. I always read your posts and enjoy them, even when I don’t find time to comment on them. For what it’s worth, I think you’re doing great.

    • Erin Says:

      Thank you 🙂 I haven’t been very good about commenting on your posts lately either. I still don’t have Internet at home and it’s hard to comment from my phone. But I am reading! Hope you are doing well 🙂

  2. theplumpvegan Says:

    No internet at home… I would be bereft. lol

Leave a Reply

