I think I might be back.

I was not feeling at all like myself last week. I used that as an excuse for why I could eat a bunch of crap. I was generally grouchy and unpleasant, so I tried to keep a low profile this weekend. I had a fairly major freak out on Saturday night as well as a good ol’ cry (it had been a LONG time since I’d had one of those). When I woke up Sunday morning, I still felt a little out of sorts, but better. I decided that there was no choice for me but to get back on track. My body might have wanted me to continue eating terrible foods, but my mind was determined to keep fighting the good fight. I realized that I needed to get out of my own way and just do this thing. Time’s a-wastin’!

So yesterday morning, I chopped a bunch of celery into sticks and put them in individual baggies to take  to work. I have a major complex about wasting food, and that celery had been sitting in the crisper drawer for about 2 weeks, so I wanted to make sure it got eaten before it went bad. Then I pored over a couple of  different cookbooks and perused some blogs, looking for simple recipes that I could make and keep in the fridge/freezer to eat throughout the week. Soups work particularly well for me, so I decided to make Krissie’s pork and bean stew as well as a WW recipe for a soup with beans, spinach, tomatoes, and andouille sausage. I went to the store, bought everything I needed for the week. I did make the mistake of going to the store without eating first, but I resisted the baked goods and bags of Oreos and managed to wait until I got back home to eat something.

Last night, I made the pork and bean stew. It was really easy to make, which is key for me since my cooking level is pretty basic. I divided the whole pot evenly between 4 containers and the little bit that was left for dinner. It was delicious! I did add some celery to mine, which wasn’t included in Krissie’s recipe, but I had some celery hearts/leaves left and didn’t want to throw them out. I figured that more veggies couldn’t hurt!

Needless to say, I didn’t go weigh in on Saturday morning. I felt sure that my overindulgence would have resulted in a gain, and I wasn’t sure that I could handle seeing that. This coming Saturday, though, it’s on. No excuses.

I’m feeling really good today. My energy level is through the roof – not sure why, but I like it! I’ve been really productive this morning, which is often a struggle for me, especially on a Monday. I’m determined to get back to the gym this week. I know it will only speed up the weight loss, so I need to get over myself and just do it.

Hope y’all had a good weekend and that your week is off to a good start!

3 Responses to “I think I might be back.”

  1. Krissie Says:

    I think celery was in the original recipe before I tweaked it. But I hate HATE celery. You’ll never see me use it.

    I’m glad you liked the soup!

  2. Jenn Says:

    I love the positive attitude! I’ve been trying to think this way all day and did really well. 🙂

    How’s your house coming along??

Leave a Reply

