Here comes the bride(smaid).

I was really nervous about going to try on bridesmaid dresses last night. I have only been in one wedding before, and that bride was so low-maintenance that she simply told us to go and buy a long black dress. So, going into last night, I had no idea what to expect and I hate to walk into a situation blindly. My main concern is that they wouldn’t have sample dresses in a size to fit me.

As I arrived in the parking lot, I had to take a deep breath and remind myself that this was not about me, it was about the bride and what she wanted. I had gotten stuck in traffic and ended up getting to the bridal salon a bit late, but the bride, her sister (the MoH), and their mom were already there and had already pulled some dresses for us to try on.

As soon as I saw that there were dress samples in plus sizes, I relaxed a bit. But I was still afraid of sizing because I’ve heard that bridesmaid dresses often run up to 2 or 3 sizes small. I normally wear a 26/28 in tops and a 28 in pants (although everything I own in those sizes are getting a bit loose). The first dress I tried on was a 24, which fit surprisingly well. Another dress I tried on was a 22 (that was was fairly tight) and one was a 20 (didn’t even zip up). The most exciting part for me was when I tried on a dress in a 28 and it was HUGE on me. Like, so big that they had to get those clips to make it fit my body. I can’t tell you the last time any article of clothing was that big on me. It felt wonderful.

Then the bride saw a shorter dress that she liked. I went into panic mode. I am super self-conscious about my legs – I have been for most of my life. The LAST thing I wanted was to wear a short dress. A strapless dress? I could deal with it. But not short. NO WAY.

Luckily, she decided that a short bridesmaid dresses wouldn’t look right with her wedding gown. I agreed with her, of course. Crisis averted!

There were a few new dress styles that they didn’t have a plus size sample dress for. Luckily, the maid of honor (the bride’s sister) is teeny tiny, so she could fit in the samples.

The bride decided on a color and a dress surprisingly quickly. Want to see it?!

The picture above shows the actual color of our dresses. It’s called ‘Spice’ and I think it will look good on all of the bridesmaids. Here’s a close-up (in a different color):

I actually really, really like the dress even though I didn’t get to try it on. I never thought I would be OK with wearing something strapless, but it was surprisingly comfortable. I had resigned myself awhile ago to the fact that I wasn’t going to get to wear some kind of wrap at a wedding on July 3, so strapless it is. I’m just going to have to be confident.

When it came time to take measurements and order a size, I measured right between a 26 and a 28. Obviously, I am working hard (although I have hit a few speed bumps) to lose weight for the wedding. So, I figured that I’d order the 26. All I can hope is that it’ll be too big closer to the wedding and I’ll have to have it altered. I thought about ordering a 24 as motivation but it made me too nervous. After all, it’s a whole lot easier to take a dress in than out.

Overall, I’m relieved about how it all turned out. As we were leaving I expressed my relief to the bride. She couldn’t understand why I had been nervous. I told her that I’m not used to walking into a store that isn’t Lane Bryant and having things fit me or be too big on me.

I’m hoping it’s a feeling that I’ll learn to get used to.

One Response to “Here comes the bride(smaid).”

  1. Becca Says:

    Love that dress and the color is BEAUTIFUL!

Leave a Reply

