I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it.

Yesterday was a big day in the world of Erin’s house. So big, in fact, that I had to take the day off of work in order for it to happen (not that I minded one bit).

I GOT MY GRANITE!

Now to understand my excitement about something as simple as countertops, you need to know that I had originally picked out countertops back in August. I found a local business that was discontinuing their granite business, and so they were going to give me a ridiculously cheap price on granite for my kitchen. The only thing was that I was going to have to wait for a month or so before they could come to my house to do the template. I said that was fine, and it was – the kitchen was nowhere near ready for countertops. They told me they’d call me when they were ready to come template.

So I waited…and waited…and waited…for that phone call. It never came. After a month and a half, I called them to make sure I was still on their radar. They said I was, and that they would call me soon.

They never called.

In mid-October I called and left a message for the guy who’d been my contact. He never called me back. So I decided I needed to bring in the heavy artillery. I asked my Dad to call them.

The thing was that I always got the feeling that they thought I was just some dumb girl who had no idea what I was doing and/or talking about. I don’t think they thought they needed to take me seriously, even though I was going to pay them a nice chunk of change for countertops.

My dad called and they told him – without any apology – that they had sold their equipment, thus rendering themselves unable to make my countertops. I was mad, but not necessarily surprised. I had a bad feeling about the whole thing after going months with no communication from them.

So I sent the letter equivalent of a bitch-slap to the president of the company (who never responded) and decided that I needed to move on.

Long story longer…I went to another granite place and picked out a kind that I liked. I ended up paying two times more than I was going to originally, but I’m quite happy with the results.

Want to see them? OK!

Here we are the night before they were installed:

And…AFTER!

Here’s a close-up (excuse the nasty backsplash – that will be remedied soon enough):

I debated for a long time about whether or not to get granite countertops, mainly because of the expense. But I decided that since this is my first house and I’m going to live here for a while, I might as well get what I want. Bonus points if the countertops add value to the house in the event I sell it some day.

I can’t believe I’m moving in next weekend. I can hardly contain my excitement. There’s still plenty to do – and it certainly won’t all be done by the time I move in – but when I think about how far it’s come, it makes it all worthwhile.

2 Responses to “I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it.”

  1. Becca Says:

    PRETTY! I also LOVE the sink with the big faucet. Nicely done. Good luck with the move 🙂

  2. theplumpvegan Says:

    It looks lovely!

Leave a Reply

