Buyer’s remorse.

I was on my way to a meeting, and I was hungry. I had eaten one of the new 90-calorie Fiber One bars, but knew that wasn’t going to hold me until 3:30. I needed something to eat, and I needed it quick.

So I pulled into Hardees, thinking I’d get a grilled chicken sandwich. But they didn’t have just a plain grilled chicken sandwich. They had one with cheese and bacon on it. They also had a breaded chicken sandwich. In the moment, I reasoned that the breaded chicken sandwich was probably a better option. So I ordered it (with no fries, of course!)

I ate it as I drove and it was fine. I made a mental note to see how many points it was when I got back to work. I got to my desk and went to the Hardees web site to check the damage.

770 calories, 36 grams of fat, 4 grams of fiber. EIGHTEEN POINTS!!!!!!!!

If the sandwich wasn’t mostly digested by this point, I’d have wanted to throw it up. OMG. 18 POINTS! I thought it would maybe be 12 or 13…14 at the most. But 18!?

Lesson learned: PLAN BETTER. I should have eaten something more substantial before I left the office. Or I should have ordered that damn grilled chicken sandwich without the cheese and the bacon. Why didn’t that dawn on me? Ugh.

It’s not a huge deal, really. I had only eaten 10 points up until I ate the chicken sandwich from hell, so I technically still have 12 points to use today. Will I use them all? Probably not. But that chicken sandwich is haunting me.

Leave a Reply

