Working on my fitness.

In my mind, exercise seems like it should be the easiest part of weight loss. I don’t hate exercising, so it should be easy to fit it in, right?

Not exactly.

While I haven’t exactly been making excuses for why I haven’t made it back to the gym, I will admit that I haven’t really been seeking out opportunities to be more active, either. In my own defense, I have been really, really busy. Most nights I go directly from work to my house to work (my commute is ~45 minutes each way). I will typically work at my house until 9 or later. By the time I get home, I want to shower, read and/or check up on the blogs that I read, and go to bed so I have enough energy to do it all again the next day.

I put my gym membership on hold back in October. I hadn’t been going regularly as it was, and I had a big event for work that I was planning which was keeping me at work late most evenings anyway. I figured I might as well not waste $30 a month if I could keep my membership current for only $10 a month.

Last Monday, I decided I was going to go to the gym after work. Even though I should have probably been doing something else, I knew that I needed to take time for myself.

I went home, changed into my gym clothes, ran an errand, and then drove to the gym. I pulled into the parking lot and realized how full the parking lot was. I drove by the main entrance and peeked in so that I could see the upper level where all of the treadmills and elliptical machines are.

The place was PACKED.

This made me anxious. I already feel very self-conscious stepping foot into the gym. My gym is the “trendy” gym in town, so it’s full of cute young things who go there to try and pick up other cute young things. I started having a dialogue in my head about what these people would think when they saw me. “Oh, there’s another fat chick coming in with a New Year’s resolution to lose weight.” I knew that these thoughts were not rational, but I couldn’t get them out of my head. I thought that by coming to the gym a little later in the evening, I’d miss the after-work rush. I was wrong.

So I turned around and drove home.

But I was still determined to exercise, so once I got home, I threw on a coat and my iPod and went out for a walk. I only walked for about a 1/2 hour, but considering that was the most significant exercise I’d had in, oh, probably 5 months, a 1/2 hour was good enough for me. At least I was moving.

I’m torn about what to do about the gym. I feel like these are my options:

  1. Keep gym membership on hold until I lose a little more weight and feel more comfortable/less anxious about going to the gym. Walk on my own in the meantime.
  2. Stop acting like a baby, suck it up, and go to the gym. Who gives a shit what people think?
  3. Cancel gym membership, saving myself $30 a month. Walk around in my new neighborhood once I move. Use the extra $30 a month toward something else

I see validity in all three options. I think #1 is the best choice for me right now.

Have any of you felt like this? What would you do? How do you manage to fit in your exercise?

3 Responses to “Working on my fitness.”

  1. Becca Says:

    Gyms can be such frustrating places. I always feel like it’s too crowded, too many germs, or it’s too far out of my way. I actually recently put my gym membership on hold as well. I wasn’t using it enough to justify the astronomical cost, so now i just pay $10 a month while it’s on hold.

    For me, I actually enjoy running or walking outside much more than the gym. Not only is it nice to get fresh air it is definitely cleaner and more invigorating.

    Another thing I love are quality workout DVD’s that you can do at home. All of the Biggest loser DVDs are great and I love the other Jillian Michaels workouts also. It’s something you can do at home fairly quickly that will definitely work in a pinch if it is raining outside!

  2. Jenn Says:

    I often feel the same way about my new gym. I also put my membership on HOLD a number of times in the past. My new gym is “the trendy gym”. EVERYONE is either a. super fit b. a celeb or c. me. I honestly have NOT seen anyone else there that is in super need of being there besides myself.

    In the past I said the same thing: Maybe once I lose a few pounds I’ll be more comfortable/confident being there. DON’T WAIT. You can do it! You have every right to be there as the others and you have to remember that. Walking is always a good option but it’s too easy to say you’ll walk when you get back and then put it off until the next day. and the next day …. and the next. I do that too often.

    I say keep it. You’ll burn more at the gym and after a few weeks I really think you’ll feel more confident in being there. If you go often enough, people will even start to recognize you in a GOOD way. 🙂

    Whatever you do, don’t think the worst. We think people are always giving us a bad glare or thinking the worst but that isn’t always the case!

  3. Unfrozen. « maybe, sometime. Says:

    […] written about my relationship with the gym before. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a little anxious as I approached the entrance last […]

Leave a Reply

